Ashtanga Yoga, 8 distinct forms of yoga !!!

The word “Asht-anga,” in Sanskrit, means “eight-limbed.” The eight distinct forms of yoga practice are as below:

  1. Yama [ Do’s and Don’ts / Moral restraints] – is the first of the 8 limbs and means “five restraints.” The five Yamas are ahimsa (non-violence), satya (truthfulness), asteya (not stealing), brahmacharya (moderation) and aparigraha (not hoarding).
  2. Niyama [Discipline] The rules are – Cleanliness, Contentment, Austerity, Self-study or Introspection, Devotion to the Supreme Lord.
  3. Asanas [Body Posture / Practice of postures] – Improve body balance, flexibility and strength and help to reduce stress and conditions related to same.
  4. Pranayama [Vyayama (Exercise of Breath) / Breath control / Extension of the breath] – is a complete breathing exercise that leads towards silence and awareness.
  5. Pratyahara [An Inward movement of the senses] – When the senses do not require external gratification and this leads to iternal flow of energy. The 5 Gyan Indriyan, 5 Karma Indriyan and the Mind.
  6. Dharana [Concentration] – One point concentration, this helps to understand, reduce and remove the osscilations in the mind.
  7. Dhyana [Meditation] – Where the mind is silenced and in meditation.
  8. Samadhi [Meditative absorption / bliss] – Complete oneness of body, mind and being.

Ashtanga Yogaha and You
Increased awareness and bliss flows and the being is in a united sense of rhythm with the unmanifested. Ashtanga Being able to move at one’s own pace and level is another great advantage of Ashtanga Yogaha.

Begin Your Yoga Journey with 100% Pure Cotton Yoga Mats :

Leave a Reply

Shopping cart


No products in the cart.

Continue Shopping